Hessisches Landesarchiv

Chief Public Prosecutor Fritz Bauer

Chapters


The International Memory of the World Register


The Auschwitz Concentration and Death Camp


Criminal prosecution prior to the 1st Frank-
furt Auschwitz Trial


Chief Public Prosecutor Fritz Bauer


The 1st Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial


The records of the 1st Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial

Start > Chief Public Prosecutor Fritz Bauer

Fritz Bauer’s move from his office as chief public prosecutor at the Braunschweig Higher Regional Court to the office of the Hessian chief public prosecutor marked the beginning of a new phase in the prosecution of Nazi criminals in the Federal Republic of Germany.

With Fritz Bauer, Hessian Prime Minister Georg August Zinn succeeded in bringing one of the most distinguished prosecutors of the newly founded Federal Republic of Germany to Frankfurt in 1956. Bauer, who was born at Stuttgart, Germany in 1903, studied law and economics. After obtaining his doctorate in 1927, he began his career as a judge; by 1930, he had advanced to the position of judge at the Local Court in his hometown, the youngest during the Weimar Republic. Fritz Bauer was also politically active, i.e., as a member of the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD), the Black, Red and Gold Banner of the Reich (Reichsbanner Schwarz-Rot-Gold), an organization founded in 1924 to protect parliamentary democracy, and the Republican Association of Judges (Republikanischen Richterbund). After the Nazi seizure of power, the new rulers not only dismissed Fritz Bauer as a judge, but also imprisoned him at Heuberg Concentration Camp for a few months. In 1936, Bauer immigrated to Denmark, from where he was barely able to escape deportation by fleeing to Sweden in 1943.

National Socialism had not been overcome yet, when the criminal prosecution of Nazi criminals became the key issue in Fritz Bauer’s life. Already during his exile in Sweden, Bauer had addressed the question of how the criminal acts of National Socialism could be punished pursuant to the rule of law, and he published his visionary ideas in his book "Die Kriegsverbrecher vor Gericht" in 1944. With the intent to help build up a democratic legal system in the young Federal Republic of Germany, Fritz Bauer returned to Germany in 1949. In Braunschweig, he was appointed a presiding judge at the Regional Court first and then chief public prosecutor at the Braunschweig Higher Regional Court. As a prosecutor in the trial of Otto Ernst Remer – Remer was crucially involved in the suppression of the uprising of July 20, 1944 and later persistently defamed the resistance fighters publicly as "traitors" after 1945 – Fritz Bauer sent a clear signal of his legal principles in 1952. These principles also included the principle successfully represented by Bauer that the Nazi state was not a state governed by the rule of law (Rechtsstaat), but a criminal and illegitimate state (Unrechtsstaat).

With his move from Braunschweig to Frankfurt, Fritz Bauer acquired the human resources needed to engage in criminal investigations against National Socialist crimes of violence on a broader scale. At the same time, he drove the search for the main Nazi criminals who had either fled or disappeared: Adolf Eichmann, an SS lieutenant colonel (Obersturmbannführer), who was responsible for the deportation of millions of Jews to the death camps; Josef Mengele, the notorious Auschwitz camp physician; and Martin Bormann, "Hitler’s secretary". He energetically pulled the Auschwitz Trial to Frankfurt in 1959 and thus launched a process that has had an impact up to the present, not only legally, but also socially. In his time as the Hessian chief public prosecutor, Fritz Bauer not only finally made West German society face the terrible crimes of National Socialism within the framework of the genocide of European Jews, but he also strove to launch investigations and criminal proceedings against high-ranking perpetrators of the Nazi euthanasia program and against Nazi judges. However, he was only moderately successful in these endeavors.

These proceedings petered out by no later than Fritz Bauer’s unexpected death in the night of June 30 to July 1, 1968. In an environment in which he frequently faced rejection and hostility, he had only limited success as a prosecutor of Nazi criminals. In the long term, however, Bauer’s legacy lies primarily in the fact that he launched the process of the reappraisal of this particular genocide and the recognition of the victims’ sufferings within German society. This is why he is revered today.

"To declare and to know the historical truth."

Fritz Bauer

Fritz Bauer with his sister Margot Fritz Bauer with his sister Margot, who was three years younger, during World War I. Private photo of Tiefenthal.

Fritz Bauer during his studies at Heidelberg. Fritz Bauer during his studies at Heidelberg. Heidelberg University Archives.

Fritz Bauer around 1954. Fritz Bauer around 1954. Hessian Main State Archives.


Fritz Bauer im Frankfurter Kellerklub 1964 (Youtube-Link)
Fritz Bauer at the Frankfurter Kellerklub 1964 (Youtube-Link)

Legal Notice

Chief Public Prosecutor Fritz Bauer

Hessisches Landesarchiv

Fritz Bauer

Kapitelübersicht


Das Weltdokumenten-Register Memory of the World


Das Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslager Auschwitz


Die Strafverfolgung vor dem 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess


Fritz Bauer


Der 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess


Die Verfahrensakte zum 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess

Sie befinden sich hier: Startseite > Fritz Bauer

Der Wechsel Fritz Bauers von seinem Amt als Generalstaatsanwalt am OLG Braunschweig in das Amt des Hessischen Generalstaatsanwalts markierte den Beginn einer neuen Phase bei der Strafverfolgung von NS-Verbrechern in der Bundesrepublik.

Mit Fritz Bauer war es dem hessischen Ministerpräsidenten Georg August Zinn 1956 gelungen, einen der profiliertesten Strafverfolger der jungen Bundesrepublik nach Frankfurt zu holen. 1903 in Stuttgart geboren, studierte Bauer Jura und Volkswirtschaft. Im Anschluss an seine Promotion 1927 schlug er die Richterlaufbahn ein und avancierte bereits 1930 in seiner Heimatstadt zum Amtsrichter, dem jüngsten in der Weimarer Republik. Auch politisch engagierte sich Fritz Bauer intensiv: in der SPD, dem Reichsbanner Schwarz-Rot-Gold und beim Republikanischen Richterbund. Nach der NS-Machtergreifung entließen die neuen Machthaber Fritz Bauer nicht nur aus seinem Richteramt, sondern inhaftierten ihn auch für einige Monate im KZ Heuberg. 1936 emigrierte Bauer nach Dänemark, von wo er 1943 einer drohenden Deportation durch seine Flucht nach Schweden knapp entgehen konnte.

Der Nationalsozialismus war noch nicht überwunden, da kristallisierte sich die strafrechtliche Verfolgung der NS-Verbrecher als das zentrale Lebensthema von Fritz Bauer heraus. Schon während seines Exils in Schweden hatte sich Bauer mit der Frage beschäftigt, wie die verbrecherischen Taten des Nationalsozialismus rechtsstaatlich gesühnt werden könnten und seine visionären Vorstellungen 1944 mit seinem Buch „Kriegsverbrecher vor Gericht“ veröffentlicht. Mit dem Vorsatz, eine demokratische Rechtsordnung in der jungen Bundesrepublik mit aufzubauen, kehrte Fritz Bauer 1949 nach Deutschland zurück. In Braunschweig wurde er zunächst Landgerichtsdirektor, 1950 dann Generalstaatsanwalt beim OLG Braunschweig. Als Ankläger im Prozess gegen Otto Ernst Remer – Remer war maßgeblich an der Niederschlagung des Aufstands des 20. Juli 1944 beteiligt und diffamierte die Widerstandskämpfer nach 1945 unverdrossen öffentlich als „Landesverräter“ – setzte Fritz Bauer 1952 ein deutliches Zeichen seiner juristischen Prinzipien. Hierzu zählte auch der von Bauer erfolgreich vertretene Grundsatz, dass der NS-Staat kein Rechtsstaat, sondern ein krimineller Unrechtsstaat war.

Mit dem Wechsel von Braunschweig nach Frankfurt eröffneten sich Fritz Bauer die notwendigen personellen Ressourcen, um auf breiter Front strafrechtliche Ermittlungen wegen nationalsozialistischer Gewaltverbrechen in Gang zu bringen. Sogleich trieb er die Suche nach geflüchteten oder verschwundenen NS-Haupttätern voran: Adolf Eichmann, als SS-Obersturmbannführer verantwortlich für die Deportationen von Millionen Juden in die Vernichtungslager, Josef Mengele, den berüchtigten KZ-Arzt von Auschwitz und Martin Bormann, dem „Sekretär des Führers“. Energisch zog er 1959 das Auschwitz-Verfahren nach Frankfurt und brachte damit einen Prozess auf den Weg, der sich juristisch, aber auch gesellschaftlich bis in die Gegenwart hinein auswirkt. In seiner Zeit als hessischer Generalstaatsanwalt führte Fritz Bauer der westdeutschen Gesellschaft nicht nur die furchtbaren Verbrechen des Nationalsozialismus im Rahmen des Völkermords an den europäischen Juden vor Augen. Auch gegen hochrangige Täter aus der NS-Euthanasie und NS-Juristen strengte Fritz Bauer Ermittlungs- und Strafverfahren an, allerdings mit mäßigem Erfolg.

Spätestens mit dem unerwarteten Tod Fritz Bauers in der Nacht vom 30. Juni auf den 1. Juli 1968 versandeten diese Verfahren. In einem Umfeld, das ihm oftmals mit Ablehnung und Feindschaft begegnete, war er als Strafverfolger von NS-Verbrechern nur bedingt erfolgreich. Bauers Vermächtnis lag langfristig vor allem darin, dass er innerhalb der deutschen Gesellschaft den Prozess der Aufarbeitung des singulären Völkermords und die Anerkennung des Leids der Opfer mit auf den Weg brachte – hierfür wird er heute verehrt.

„Die historische Wahrheit kund und zu wissen tun“

Fritz Bauer

Fritz Bauer mit Schwester Margot Fritz Bauer mit seiner drei Jahre jüngeren Schwester Margot in der Zeit des Ersten Weltkriegs. Privatbesitz Tiefenthal.

Fritz Bauer während seiner Studienzeit in Heidelberg Fritz Bauer während seiner Studienzeit in Heidelberg. Universitätsarchiv Heidelberg.

Fritz Bauer um 1954 Fritz Bauer um 1954. Hessisches Hauptstaats-archiv.


Fritz Bauer im Frankfurter Kellerklub 1964 (Youtube-Link)
Fritz Bauer im Frankfurter Kellerklub 1964 (Youtube-Link)

Impressum

Fritz Bauer