Hessisches Landesarchiv

The 1st Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial

Chapters


The International Memory of the World Register


The Auschwitz Concentration and Death Camp


Criminal prosecution prior to the 1st Frank-
furt Auschwitz Trial


Chief Public Prosecutor Fritz Bauer


The 1st Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial


The records of the 1st Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial

The 1st Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial

Start > The 1st Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial

The first Auschwitz Trial in Frankfurt began at the Römer, Frankfurt’s City Hall, on December 20, 1963 – initiated not by systematic investigations but by the report filed by a private person with the police against one of the later defendants, namely SS Senior Platoon Leader (Oberscharführer) Wilhelm Boger, in the spring of 1958.

Trial venues: The Römer and Haus Gallus

For jurisdictional reasons, the Stuttgart public prosecutor’s office first conducted the investigations, but as of December in the same year, the Central Office in Ludwigsburg also began its own investigation. In January of 1959, Fritz Bauer, the chief public prosecutor in Frankfurt, received authentic documents documenting the targeted killings of Auschwitz prisoners by members of the SS. He immediately launched an investigation. Bauer, who himself had been persecuted by the Nazi regime as a Jew and a Social Democrat, requested that the Federal Court of Justice (Bundesgerichtshof) in Karlsruhe transfer legal jurisdiction with respect to all of the crimes committed at Auschwitz to the Frankfurt Regional Court in the spring of 1959. During the course of bundling these proceedings, Fritz Bauer hired a highly motivated and dedicated group of public prosecutors who had not been implicated in Nazi crimes and who were led by Hans Grossmann: Georg Friedrich Vogel, Joachim Kuegler, and Gerhard Wiese.

Judges and public prosecutors

They carried the investigative work forward. Supported by Hermann Langbein, a former Auschwitz prisoner and co-founder of the International Auschwitz Committee, the Frankfurt public prosecutors quickly compiled the evidence and statements by witnesses.

The atrocious incidents at Auschwitz began to be revealed by the investigation. In April 1963, 23 members of the SS and one "kapo", a prisoner functionary, were indicted. A few days before Christmas of 1963, the trial of these 22 defendants finally began.

Defendants in the first Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial

With its 183 days of court hearings until August 1965, during the course of which 360 witnesses testified, the first Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial was not the longest Nazi trial in the history of the Federal Republic of Germany, but it had the biggest impact on the public and was the most significant in the long term. For the first time, German postwar society was confronted with the genocide mercilessly and comprehensively, especially through the harrowing testimony of the witnesses.

Witnesses in the first Frankfurt Auschwitz Trial

However, judgments were not rendered as a "crime against humanity" in accordance with the modern category of international law, but in accordance with traditional German criminal law. Therefore, the individual and personal guilt of every individual defendant had to be proved, which was only possible to a limited extent after almost two decades had passed. On August 19 and 20, 1965, Presiding Judge Hans Hofmeyer delivered the judgments. Despite six life sentences, these judgments were very lenient. Ten defendants got off lightly, with some receiving short terms in the penitentiary as joint accessories to collaborative murder, and three defendants were acquitted owing to the lack of evidence.

These judgments filled many contemporaries, including Fritz Bauer, as the principal initiator of the trial, with bitterness. At the same time, they showed how little the legal position prevailing at that time allowed for the appropriate prosecution of the crimes against humanity committed on behalf of the German state.

Legal Notice

Hessisches Landesarchiv

Der 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess

Kapitelübersicht


Das Weltdokumenten-Register Memory of the World


Das Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslager Auschwitz


Die Strafverfolgung vor dem 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess


Fritz Bauer


Der 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess


Die Verfahrensakte zum 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess

Der 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess

Sie befinden sich hier: Startseite > Der 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess

Der 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess begann am 20. Dezember 1963 im Frankfurter Rathaus Römer - ausgelöst nicht durch systematische Ermittlungen, sondern durch die Anzeige einer Privatperson gegen einen der späteren Angeklagten, SS-Oberscharführer Wilhelm Boger, im Frühjahr 1958.

Der Verhandlungsort: Römer und Gallus

Zuständigkeitshalber ermittelte zunächst die Stuttgarter Staatsanwaltschaft, dann ab Dezember desselben Jahres auch die Zentrale Stelle in Ludwigsburg. Im Januar 1959 erhielt der Frankfurter Generalstaatsanwalt Fritz Bauer authentische Dokumente, die gezielte Tötungen von Auschwitz-Häftlingen durch SS-Leute belegten. Sofort nahm auch er Ermittlungen auf. Bauer, selbst als Jude und Sozialdemokrat vom NS-Regime verfolgt, beantragte er im Frühjahr 1959 beim Bundesgerichtshof in Karlsruhe, die juristische Zuständigkeit bezüglich aller in Auschwitz verübten Verbrechen dem Frankfurter Landgericht zu übertragen. Im Zuge der Konzentration dieser Verfahren stellte Fritz Bauer eine hochmotivierte und engagierte, von Hanns Großmann geführte Gruppe Staatsanwälte zusammen, die nicht in die NS-Verbrechen verstrickt waren: Georg Friedrich Vogel, Joachim Kügler und Gerhard Wiese.

Richter und Staatsanwälte

Sie trieben die Ermittlungsarbeit voran. Unterstützt von Hermann Langbein, vormaliger Auschwitz-Häftling und Mitbegründer des Internationalen Auschwitzkomitees, trugen die Frankfurter Staatsanwälte zügig Beweismaterial und Zeugenaussagen zusammen.

Die grauenhaften Geschehnisse in Auschwitz nahmen durch das Ermittlungsverfahren Kontur an. Im April 1963 konnte gegen 23 SS-Angehörige und einem Funktionshäftling Anklage erhoben werden. Wenige Tage vor Weihnachten 1963 begann die Hauptverhandlung schließlich gegen 22 Angeklagte.

Angeklagte im 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess

Mit seinen 183 Verhandlungstagen bis August 1965, in deren Verlauf 360 Zeugen vernommen wurden, war der 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess zwar nicht das längste NS-Verfahren in der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik, dafür aber das öffentlichkeitswirksamste und langfristig bedeutendste. Die deutsche Nachkriegsgesellschaft wurde zum ersten Mal schonungslos und umfassend mit dem Völkermord konfrontiert, insbesondere durch die erschütternden Zeugenaussagen.

Zeugen im 1. Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess

Geurteilt wurde aber nicht nach der modernen Völkerrechts-Kategorie eines „Verbrechens gegen die Menschlichkeit“, sondern nach dem traditionellen deutschen Strafrecht. Daher musste jedem einzelnen Angeklagten die individuelle, persönliche Schuld nachgewiesen werden, was nach fast zwei Jahrzehnten nur noch bedingt möglich war. Am 19. und 20. August verkündete der Vorsitzende Richter Hans Hofmeyer die Urteile. Diese fielen, trotz sechs lebenslanger Zuchthausstrafen, sehr milde aus. Zehn Anklagte kamen wegen gemeinschaftlicher Beihilfe zum gemeinschaftlichem Mord mit zum Teil kurzen Zuchthausstrafen davon, drei Angeklagte wurden aus Mangel an Beweisen freigesprochen.

Die Urteile erfüllten viele Zeitgenossen, Fritz Bauer als Hauptinitiator des Prozesses eingeschlossen, mit Verbitterung. Zugleich verwiesen sie darauf, wie wenig die damals geltende Rechtsauffassung das in Namen des deutschen Staates begangene Menschheitsverbrechen strafrechtlich angemessen ahnden konnte.

Impressum